Hertford Art Society

Since 1953 our aim has been to encourage an interest in art and provide opportunities to practice, study and exhibit art in Hertfordshire.

We bring people together, whether practitioners or academics, professional or amateur, to share their love of art and develop and learn. Enjoy working with us both indoors and in the open in any medium.

We encourage new Members to grow as artists and get comfortable with exhibiting.

In addition to a varied painting program we include social events, including gallery visits, Christmas Party, quiz nights and more.

Hertford Art Society inside Cowbridge Hall

Painting outdoors as part of the Summer Programme

Our programme gives Members the environment, education and encouragement to improve and develop their skills.

Visit our exhibitions or commission work and buy a painting to enjoy for the rest of your life.

2016-2017 Critique Winners

Critique winners of the 2016 – 2017 season as chosen by Members

Celia Sanders
April 2016
Datchworth Harvest - Pastel

John Jarratt
September 2016
Out On Its Own - Oil

Rita Dare
October 2016
Winter Glow - Oil

Margo Ward
Joint Winner November 2016
Onions - Mixed Media

David Stowe
Joint Winner November 2016
Osprey Lake, Panshanger - Oil

Kathy Burman
Joint Critique Winner December 2016
Echoes - Thermalite Block

Geoff Bennett
Joint Critique Winner December 2016
Self Portrait - Linoprint

Craig Lee
Critique Winner January 2017
On the beach, Hunstanton - Oil

Craig Lee
Critique Winner March 2017
Hope - Oil


The Hertford Art Society is honoured to have the following as President and Vice Presidents of the Society.


  • The Most Honourable The Marquess of Salisbury

Vice Presidents

  • The Lord Laming
  • HW The Mayor of Hertford
  • Mr Ronald Maddox PRI, Hon RWS, FCSD
  • Dr Waring Robinson MB, BS, FSDC

Constitution of the Hertford Art Society

Based on the original document of 1953 and amendments thereto passed at Annual General Meetings, including 2015.

For full constitution, click here for more details.